• Home
  • News
  • Modi Government To Rename 3 Islands In Andaman And Nicobar

Modi Government To Rename 3 Islands In Andaman And Nicobar

By: Pinki Tue, 25 Dec 2018 1:08:23

Modi government to rename 3 islands in Andaman and Nicobar

Ahead of general elections, the renaming saga continues. After renaming cities the Narendra Modi-led central government will now rename three islands in Andaman and Nicobar.

According to ANI, the three islands which will be renamed are Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island. A demand was made in the Rajya Sabha to change the name of Havelock island in the Andamans with a BJP member saying that naming a place after a person who had fought Indian patriots in 1857 was a matter of shame. The three islands will be renamed to Ross Island as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, Neil Island as Shahid Dweep and Havelock Island as Swaraj Dweep.

The renaming of the islands will reportedly take place to mark the 75th year of freedom fighter Subhash Chandra Bose hoisting the national flag at Port Blair. Bose had hoisted the flag at Port Blair on December 30, 1943, as he believed that Port Blair was the first territory to be freed from British rule. This was done after the Japenese captured that area during the time of the Second World War. Bose had reportedly suggested back then that the Andaman and Nicobar Islands be renamed as Shahid and Swaraj dweep.

Home | About | Contact | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy

| | |

Copyright © 2023 lifeberrys.com